Book Series Review: The Alphabet Crime Series

I just wrote ‘The Alphabet Pie Series’ in the title field by mistake. I think perhaps a lunchbreak might be in order soon.

Anyway… continuing on my current trend of reading series of books, I’ve restarted on the Sue Grafton alphabet series: A is for Alibi, B is for Burglar, C is for Corpse. A colleague saw one sitting on my desk the other day and laughed; it’s true, I probably would teach the alphabet in this way to any offspring I had. It makes it more exciting.

Still, alphabet-learning aside, the novels themselves are interesting and fast-paced. C is for Corpse had the bottom part of my spine tingling in the final chapter, though that might just have been all the running I’ve been doing recently.

Kinsey Millhone is a very likeable character; a sort of female John Rebus; good at her job, rubbish at relationships, dedicated to work. I read the first three books in order, then skipped forward to the next one I happened to have: G is for Gumshoe, which sounds slightly less threatening than Burglar or Corpse, but you never can tell with crime novels.

I’d definitely recommend the whole series for anyone who likes to develop a rapport with the people they’re reading about.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.